Good Manners.


Hadith – Bukhari’s Book of Manners #271, Abu Dawud, Tirmidhi, Ahmad, and Ibn Hibban.

…Abu Darda’ reported that the Prophet of Allah, صلى الله عليه و سلم, said, “Nothing is weightier on the Scale of Deeds than one’s good manners.”

Salams, basically don’t forget to smile, say thanks, acknowledge a correspondence or trust, help someone etc.

Last week I was going home from work, my car had a puncture. Its winter freezing cold and I had to change the tyre. As I pulled the tyre off the car fell of the jack, Alhumdulillah  I was fine but the jack was trapped underneath the car and I couldn’t get it up plus it was too dangerous. In the end up I had to end up calling the RAC.  So I was waiting outside in the freezing cold and to my good fortune the people who lived in the house opposite where my car was parked came home and later actually invited me in and we had a chat etc. the Man  was paddy from Ireland and the girl was Sandra (Afro Carribean) and they were both extremely friendly and helpful, even invited me back to visit them. They were a happy couple lived in a tiny basement. much tinier than a basement I had seen before.  We had some food together I actually had to go make a call so I bought some take away on the way back with chips, lucky I had,  as they were eating by then (obviously non halal food) so they could continue eating without feeling bad as I had food to share with them too.

So in the end this what was going to be a cold long hard evening ended up being a pleasant warm evening, there were even issues  I could talk to them about which you can’t normally to everyone,  they were older been through life, have the experience of years but their good manners made the evening pleasant.  Sandra was extremely helpful.

The Prophet Peace Be Upon Him taught the world manners and etiquette its time we muslims also started practicing our values and one thing I gained from the whole experience was about spending time with non muslims something I have never done before.

Sandra kept saying and stressing about being good to people and that favours come back round.  Paddy is an out of work builder so if I ever have some work I need doing I got his number.

Leave a Reply

